The Liebster Blog Award: I love Word Pressers!

I was recently nominated by a fellow Word Press blogger for The Liebster Blog Award — thank you asealaskhaki of randommusings! I am extremely flattered!! Who wouldn’t be? But, what’s it an award for? I had to do some research 🙂 I came to the happy conclusion that it’s a way to recognise new blogs and new bloggers, and to help pay forward the sense of community that blogging engenders. All in all, it’s a warm and fuzzy feeling.

As for the formalities, here we go!

The Rules:

1. Thank the person who nominated you for the Liebster Award and link their blog to your post.
2. Answer the 11 questions they’ve asked you.
3. Nominate 11 bloggers who are newbies, or who have less than 200 followers.
4. Ask 11 questions to your nominees.
5. Let your nominees know you nominated them once you’ve posted about your Liebster Award.
6. Add the Liebster Award badge to your blog!

LiebsterAwardQuestions Answered:

1. Which song is your go-to song, and why?

As with the rest of my answers, this one is entirely dependent upon my mood. I have a soft spot in my heart for Enya’s “Watermark”, I will always tap my foot to anything even vaguely Celtic trad-like, I was molded under the epic tutelage of ELO and Beatles, and will always be drawn to anything fusion-y that I can sing or dance to. (This is the point where Yvonne clicks into iTunes to see what she’s played the most. Ah. No surprise. Bombay Dub Orchestra’s “Beauty and the East.” ‘Nuff said.)

2. Who would you dress up as for Halloween?

Given the choice (and if I had the resources, time, and ability), a seriously kick-ass Bride of Frankenstien. And not the Kenneth Brannagh version either. I’m talkin’ the full-out, 1935, Boris Karloff version. Oh yeah.

3. If you could have a conversation with any person, alive or dead, who would it be?

I’ve often pondered this question. Unfortunately, I’ve always been dissatisfied with my answer. Answers like Albert Einstein or Marie Curie leave me feeling like I’ve left out the common-man’s perception, but yet I feel like I should answer that I’d like to ask some cliche questions to these people. The best I’ve come up with so far is to try to converse with someone from ancient Egypt or during the Mayan Classic Period. I’d like to know what their perceptions of the world were at the height of their civilisations.

4. Which virtual game do you like the most?

Reading.

5. Which book(s) are you really fond of?

Any that I can touch and that touch me back. I’m not picky. Really.

6. What is your craziest aspiration?

To be a writer and to be recognized for it. I would love for ONE person to be touched by my work. Ha. It’s really quite an hilarious aspiration. Dante’s Inferno ain’t coolin’ any time soon!

7. If you were to create a piece of art, what would it look like?

I am hoping it will take the form of a Young Adult trilogy, the first book of which will be released (hopefully) next year. It’s epic. I’ve bled out upon the page for so long. I can only hope that the journey and effort will have been worth it.

8. Is there any poem or quote that has stuck with you?

Jabberwocky by Lewis Carroll. (For those keeping score, this answer in and of itself really says so much about me.)

9. Is there anyone whose hair you really envy? (I don’t know why I felt compelled to ask this. It’s pretty weird)

Anyone who owns — REALLY OWNS — their curly hair. I have a mop of unruly blonde curly hair. Since I was a child, people have tried to tame it, straighten it, control it, or somehow keep it from being what it is. The secret is to let it be. I always admire people, especially women like Amanda Marshall, who own what Mother Nature gave them. I look upon it as a symbol of being who you are and not letting others steer you.

Amanda_Marshall_cover

10. Did you like answering these questions?

They actually weren’t as bad as I thought. And now that we’re almost done, I’m just getting into the groove 🙂

11. Was the above answer a diplomatic lie or the truth? 😛

The truth. Always the truth, unfortunately.

Nominees (‘cuz you’re awesome!):

1. John Suhar

2. Becoming Vivid

3. Janelle Marie Baker

4. The Travelling Historian

5. This Road Continues One Block North

6. Thriving in the 21st Century

7. Archaeology, Academia and Access

8. One Girl One Suitcase

9. Erin Millar – Moments Most Chimerical

10. Relationships, Connect the Dots

11. Yummy in my Clean Tummy

Questions for the nominees (hehe):

1. Favourite book and why?

2. If you could have a conversation with any person, alive or dead, who would it be? (I’m paying forward this delightful question, thanks asealaskhaki!)

3. The power is out, you’re at home alone. It’s early evening and a storm is raging. What do you do with your time?

4. What did you want to be when you grew up? How has this changed?

5. Performance art or fine art?

6. A genie will grant you the power to either let people to see the truth or be happy. Which power do you choose?

7. If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?

8. How do inspire yourself?

9. Do you like group / team exercises?

10. What’s one job / career that you’d like to try?

11. Biggest pet peeve?

Pay forward the good stuff and discard the bad!

~YK

Leave a Reply

