Return to Self

It’s been two years since I started this blog. Two years of postings, of venting, of titillating the little grey cells, and of sharing.

It’s now time for a change.
….or rather, an evolution of content and a change of scenery.

When I started this blog, I was in a job I hated. Why did I hate it? It was sucking the life out of me.

Before I was an archaeologist, I was a person. Anybody in archaeology can relate to this, likely others can too. Archaeology is all-encompassing. Fine if that’s what you want. For those of us who find ourselves in it, it can be suffocating. Now that I have left my consulting archaeology job, am now in a decidedly un-archaeology job, I have regained some perspective.

As I start to breathe again, I find that the person I always was is still there (hallelujah!). And, hence, my blog is reflecting this return to self.

Who is The Reluctant Archaeologist?

If we were able to go back in time, it is likely we would find some well-intending relative or fairy godmother standing at the foot of my cradle and speaking fateful words: she will like to dig.

I love to dig, literally and metaphorically. I am fascinated by human nature and psychology. My favourite question is “why?” I search tenaciously for the truth; I appreciate not only giving the truth but getting it. I will dig fearlessly (and fearfully) into my own psyche for the truth behind my thoughts and behaviours, and I ask, …um, demand the same of my friends.

I will always be a reluctant archaeologist: I refuse to conform; I refuse to be placed in a box; I refuse to be stereotyped.

As I learn to breathe again as person and search for a path that I can call my own, this blog will evolve and continue to include rantings and ponderings. For instance:

  • post-secondary education (it ain’t all it’s cracked up to be)
  • owning and running a small business (why am I doing this again??)
  • being a 35+ SWF and dating (one word: baggage)
  • being true to yourself, despite the odds
  • adrenal fatigue (where did all my energy go?)
  • writing and publishing (or the lack thereof)
  • anthropological perspectives (just because anthropology lends itself to being whole-pictured)
  • coming to terms with living in the 21st century – environment, debt, and self-destruction
  • recognising and paying forward the good stuff in life
  • and, of course, continued perspectives on archaeology whenever they pop up.

I hope you continue to enjoy, think, and be yourself 🙂

Leave a Reply

